Skip to content

Food is Joy

May 22, 2012

Today, I am linking up with one of my very best blogger friends, Sarah from Notice the Dirt. She has started a new “Food is Joy” series that is meant to remind us all that food is not the enemy. In her words “I want women to stop battling their plates over calories and start delighting in the way food fuels us, sates us, comforts us.  And I want all of this because we’ll never be healthy eaters if food is our nemesis.”

Notice the Dirt

I have a volatile love/hate relationship with food. Man, it sure tastes good, but the guilt I often feel after eating is depressing and exhausting. I forget what it’s like to just appreciate food and not over-analyze every bite.

So here goes, my attempt to remember that food is delicious, nourishing, and most definitely a source of joy.

This week’s prompt is your favorite food. As crazy as it sounds for a food lover, my favorite is salad. No, I’m not just saying this to seem “healthy,” I really, truly could eat a great salad every day (during B’s deployments it’s not uncommon for me to make the same salad for dinner 10 days in a row).

When I lived in Rome, there was a little Snack Bar (what they sometimes call a cafe) down the street from where I went to class. They would make the most amazing salads to order. It’s here that I learned the art of mediterranean salad making. A little bit of butter lettuce, some arugula, cucumber, artichoke, and a few chunks of fresh mozzarella. Top it all off with a dash of olive oil, a pinch of salt and perfecto!

These days, I make my salad with whatever I have handy, but my current favorite combination is:

{Spring mix lettuce, arugula, grape tomatoes, and red onion}

{Cucumber and red cabbage}

{Feta cheese, olive oil, balsamic vinegar and it’s ready to go}

Buon appetito!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2012 9:34 am

    And the more we learn about the food, the more we can enjoy healthy as well as tasty choices – like your delicious salad!

    • recipeforabeautifullife permalink*
      May 22, 2012 1:19 pm

      Yes, exactly! Thank you for reading!

  2. May 22, 2012 9:39 am

    Yum! That is a perfect salad and I’m with ya – I eat one for lunch almost every day. Such a good way to eat a thousand different flavors at once. Thanks for linking up!

    • recipeforabeautifullife permalink*
      May 22, 2012 1:19 pm

      Yes, the combination of flavors is what makes salad so great!! Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. May 22, 2012 10:05 am

    Feta is my favorite in salads!

    • recipeforabeautifullife permalink*
      May 22, 2012 1:17 pm

      It’s the best! Ads so much flavor.

  4. May 22, 2012 10:03 pm

    That salad looks great! Always good to remember to eat well!

  5. May 22, 2012 11:54 pm

    This salad looks yummy! 🙂

  6. May 23, 2012 8:37 am

    Yum, yum yum! Do you have time/space for a garden?

    • recipeforabeautifullife permalink*
      May 23, 2012 8:56 am

      I have a small area in our back yard with room for a garden and I have been toying with the idea of planting vegetables there. Do you have one?

Trackbacks

  1. Easy and Healthy Homemade Salad Dressing « Recipe for a Beautiful Life

Leave a comment